Friday , September 30 2022

BJP National President Amit Shah, Smriti Irani and Congress Ahmed Patel won Rajya Sabha Election

               The senior congress leader Mr Ahmed Patel has elected   for Rajya Sabha for fifth time, the BJP National President Mr Amit Shah and Union Minister for Textile and Information and Broadcasting Smriti Irani also has won the Rajya Sabha Election from Gujrat. Mr Patel received 44 votes while he expecting around 45 votes, due to two Congress dissident MLAs Mr Patel lose two votes beside it he received one vote of  JDU MLA and one from BJP MLA Apart from Mr   Amit Shah and Smriti Irani received 46 votes each.

              Due to the objection raised by Congress Party against his two dissident MLAs the counting of votes was delayed for hours.   The Congress had approached the Election Commission seeking to invalidate the votes of its two legislators for their cross voting. The ruling party BJP Leaders approached Election Commission and opposed the claim of Congress Party.  The Commission after reviewing the matter agreed with the Congress complaint and directed the Returning officer to start counting of votes after segregating the ballot papers of two Congress dissident MLAs Raghavji Bhai Patel and Bholabhai Gohil.

              In the late night the Election Commission declared the   votes of these two legislators as invalid, who cross voted. The order said that while going through the video footage of the polling process, it found that the two had violated the secrecy of ballots.

              Briefing the media persons at Gandhinagar after the announcement of results, Mr. Rupani said that there is no evidence in support of congress complaint for violation of rules. CM Gujrat said the BJP Party is not happy with the decision of the Election Commission and will take legal recourse in this regard.

Check Also

Mass blackout as Hurricane Ian crashes ashore in Florida

29-09-2022 FLORIDA: Hurricane Ian, one of the most powerful storms ever recorded in the United …