Friday , September 30 2022

Voting concludes to elect 14th President of India

Voting was held today to elect the 14th President of India as members of Parliament and legislative assemblies exercised their franchise at designated centers at Parliament House and state assemblies complex.
A total of 714 MPs voted in the Presidential polls in Parliament House. Briefing media in New Delhi, Secretary General, Lok Sabha and returning officer for Presidential elections, Anoop Mishra said, four MLAs also voted in Parliament house and 54 MPs exercised their franchise in their states.
He said, 100 per cent polling was recorded in Arunachal, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Uttarakhand and Puducherry. He said, MPs Tapas Paul, Ramachandra Hansdah didn’t vote as they are in police custody.
MP from Sasaram Chedi Paswan didn’t vote due to a Supreme Court order. Besides, Lok Sabha MP from Tamil Nadu Ambumani Ramadoss also did not cast vote. Mr Mishra said, overall polling per centage was nearly 99 per cent.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah who is also a legislator from Gujarat cast their vote. Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Vice President Rahul Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh and BSP chief Mayawati were among those prominent leaders who cast their votes at Parliament house.
Former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar are in the direct fight in the polls in the race to the Raisina Hills. The voting concluded at 5pm. Paper ballots were used in this election.
The results will be declared on Thursday.
In Telangana, 117 members of the 119-member Legislative Assembly have utilized their franchise today in the Presidential Poll held for the first time after its formation.
The polling came to an end in Hyderabad with BJP Legislature Party Leader, Kishan Reddy utilizing his franchise before the closure. Earlier in the morning, Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao cast the first vote during the Presidential Poll while Speaker Madhusudhanachary and Opposition leader Jana Reddy followed him.
Except MIM Legislature Party Leader Akbaruddin Owisi and TRS member Manohar Reddy who were away from voting due to health reasons, all other members cast their vote. The ballot boxes will be shifted to Delhi tomorrow amidst tight security.
In Rajasthan, 199 legislators out of 200 have exercised their franchise in the Presidential Poll. Former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has cast his vote in Gujarat. Polling commenced at 10 am and concluded at 2.15 pm.
The Rajasthan Assembly has 200 MLAs in which BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.
In Uttar Pradesh, voting for Presidential Elections concluded peacefully amid tight security. 402 MLAs along with three MPs cast their votes today. One Samajwadi party MLA Abrar Ahmed could not cast his vote due to bad health.
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis along with his ministers and other opposition leaders cast their votes in the presidential elections today.
The voting for the presidential election started at the Vidhan Bhawan at 10 am and ended at 5 pm.
Of the 288 eligible voters, 287 cast their votes. Jailed NCP MLAs Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam too cast votes after permissions from various courts.
A special PMLA court granted Bhujbal permission to vote while the Bombay High Court had on Friday allowed NCP MLA Ramesh Kadam, arrested for his alleged involvement in a corruption case, to vote in the election.
In Nagaland, out of sixty MLAs, fifty nine MLAs voted in the Presidential polls in the state Legislative Assembly at Kohima today. The election process was carried out smoothly in accordance with the norms and procedures laid down by the Constitution of Ind

Check Also

Mass blackout as Hurricane Ian crashes ashore in Florida

29-09-2022 FLORIDA: Hurricane Ian, one of the most powerful storms ever recorded in the United …