Saturday , June 22 2024

PM Modi’s oath-taking ceremony: Sheikh Hasina, Prachanda, Wickremesinghe to attend

The main opposition Congress, on the other hand, registered a strong growth, winning 99 seats against 52 in 2019.

New Delhi’6 June 24′Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, and Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe have confirmed they will be attending the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, sources confirmed on Thursday.

Both Hasina and her Nepal counterpart Dahal had previously extended their greetings to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the performance of the NDA at the 18th Lok Sabha elections.

PM Modi had spoken over phone with Dahal also known as Prachanda. “An invitation was extended to Nepal PM by PM Modi during Wednesday’s phone conversation,” an official said today.

“During Wednesday evening’s telephonic conversation between two leaders, an invitation was extended to Nepal PM for attendance in the swearing-in ceremony. Nepal Prime Minister also confirmed the attendance. Formal announcement will be made soon,” the senior official told ANI.

M Nazrul Islam, the speechwriter for the Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina told ANI, “Prime Minister Hasina is departing tomorrow from Dhaka to Delhi to participate in the oath-taking ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi after receiving an invitation from him.”

Sheikh Hasina will leave Dhaka on a special flight scheduled for the afternoon and will remain here in the national capital until the afternoon of June 9.

Asked about the possibility of bilateral meetings on the sidelines of the ceremony, Islam said “While such a meeting has not been confirmed yet, the delegations accompanying the leaders will be very small.”

Sheikh Hasina recently secured victory in the national elections in Bangladesh, following which she emphasized the strong relationship between Bangladesh and India, stating, “India is our tested and loyal neighbour, and we have a good relationship between India and Bangladesh.”

Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe is expected to attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony which is likely to take place on June 9.

President Wickremesinghe congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the BJP-led NDA’s electoral victory over a phone call.

During his conversation, PM Modi invited President Wickremesinghe to his oath ceremony, which the Sri Lankan president accepted.

“During the conversation, Prime Minister @narendramodi invited President Wickremesinghe to his swearing-in ceremony, which President @RW_UNP accepted,” the President’s Media Division of Sri Lanka said in a post on X.

“President Ranil Wickremesinghe congratulated Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the @BJP4India led NDA’s electoral victory in a phone call,” the post added.

Extending his warmest wishes to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the win of the BJP-led coalition in the parliamentary polls in the country, President Ranil Wickremesinghe on Tuesday said Sri Lanka looks forward to further strengthening the partnership with India.

In a post on X, Sri Lanka’s president said, “I extend my warmest felicitations to the @BJP4India led NDA on its victory, demonstrating the confidence of the Indian people in the progress and prosperity under the leadership of PM @narendramodi.

“As the closest neighbour Sri Lanka looks forward to further strengthening the partnership with India,” he added.

The visit underscores the ongoing diplomatic relations and cooperation between the two neighbouring countries, highlighting the mutual respect and collaboration that have been hallmarks of the partnership.

PM Modi is likely to take oath on June 9 after the BJP-led NDA narrowly surpassed the majority mark, winning 293 seats in the 18th Lok Sabha elections, while the opposition INDIA bloc secured 234 seats.

The counting of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections was held on Tuesday. According to the Election Commission of India, the BJP won 240 seats, much lower than its 2019 tally of 303.

Check Also

63.8 per cent turnout in Haryana for 10 parliamentary seats

Chandigarh, May 25’2024: Haryana recorded a 63.8 per cent turnout, as of 7.30 p.m., in …