Thursday , August 11 2022

Speculation Rife on Speaker, Ministers Names; Induction of Ministers, etc. Decisions Likely in 4, 5 Days

Hyderabad, Jan.6 (PMI): With the announcement of State Legislative  Assembly  Session commencing  date (January 17), speculation gathered momentum on many aspects such as the  choice for   the posts of  Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Government Chief Whip, the possibility of Ministry expansion either before or during the four-day session, the probable legislators who would  be lucky enough to become Ministers,  the chances of   KT Rama Rao and  T Harish Rao becoming Ministers, and whether there will be induction of only six to eight ministers for the present or more.

While the schedule for the Assembly session was announced, the   Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, has opted to maintain silence on the vital issues like Ministry formation, Speaker’s choice, etc., thus giving scope for wide ranging speculation on these aspects.  The swearing-in of  newly elected Assembly Members will take place on January 17, with the pro-tem Speaker in the Chair, and  the election of the Speaker is slated for the next day.

            Sources say that the Chief Minister is still undecided on the selection of Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Chief whip, and the exercise is going on now.  Similar is the case with the finalization of  probable Ministers and  the  number of Ministers to be inducted in the first phase.   KCR is having consultations with the senior leaders of the party on these issues, and he is likely to take decisions within the next few days, and announce the date of induction of Ministers, it is said. It may be recalled here that only KCR and Mohd Mahmood Ali were sworn-in on December 13, and later KCR has assigned the Home portfolio to Mahmood Ali, who was one of the Deputy Chief Minister’s in the previous Cabinet.

            The Chief Minister is reported to be considering the names of three, four senior Legislators for the post of Speaker, and they include Redya Naik (ST), Koppula Eshwar (SC),  Etela Rajender (BC) and former Deputy Speaker Padma Devender Reddy.  In the previous Assembly, a BC leader Madhusudana Chary  was selected as  Speaker, and the Chief Minister is said to be in favour of choosing a leader from SC,ST or BC this time also  for the post. If this happens, Padma Devender Reddy might  get a Ministerial berth.

As regards the probable Ministers, the names of Kadiam Srihari, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, Etela Rajender, K T Rama Rao, T Harish Rao,   Talasani Srinivas  Yadav,  Srinivas Goud, Errabelli Dayakar Rao, A Indrakaran Reddy, Balka Suman, Sukhender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna, Rekha Naik  are being mentioned.

            In all probability, the Chief Minister might take a decision on these matters within the next three or four days and make some announcements, to put an end to speculations. (PMI)                                 

Check Also

Independence Day Diamond Jubilee Celebrations Closing Ceremony On August 22′ K Keshavara Rao

Hyderabad’ 11 Aug 2022: The diamond jubilee celebrations of the country’s Independence, ‘Swatantra Bharata Vajrotsavalu’ closing …