Friday , December 9 2022


Hyderabad, July 18 (PMI): Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao on Monday cast his ballot at the committee hall in the Assembly building here after returning from Warangal.

Minister for Municipal Administration and Urban Development K T Rama Rao was the early bird to cast his vote. Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy and all cabinet ministers in the KCR government also exercised their franchise. The voting began at 10 am and concluded at 5 pm.

The ruling TRS party had earlier declared its support to the Opposition sponsored candidate and former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha, who is contesting against the BJP-led NDA candidate and Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu for the top constitutional post. The AIMIM and Congress have also backed Yashwant Sinha.

In the 119-member Telangana Legislative Assembly, excluding a nominated member, who doesn’t have a voting right in the presidential election, the ruling TRS party has strength of 103, followed by AIMIM seven, Congress six and BJP three. There are 17 Lok Sabha members and seven Rajya Sabha members from Telangana. The counting of votes will take place at Parliament House on July 21 and the next President will take oath on July 25. (PMI)

Check Also

TRS is now officially BRS

Hyderabad, Dec.8 (PMI): The Election Commission of India has formally approved the request of changing …